The ruling All Progressives Congress, at Saturday’s supplementary elections, gained three more seats in the Senate, moving its number of seats at the 10th Senate from 57 to 60.

Also, the main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party, won three additional senatorial seats, resulting in a total number of 32 seats from the earlier 29 seats in the 10th Senate.

The APC won in Sokoto Central, Yobe South and Plateau Central Senatorial Districts; while the PDP won in  Sokoto South,  Kebbi North and Zamfara Central.

In Sokoto Central, APC candidate, Senator Aliyu Wamakko, polled  141,468 votes to defeat his close rival and deputy governor of the state, Mannir Daniya, who scored 118,445 votes.

Senator Ibrahim Bomai of the APC won in Yobe South Senatorial District, after polling 69,596 votes to defeat Halilu Mazagane of the PDP, who got 68,885.

Also, INEC declared  Diket Plang of the APC, the winner of the Plateau Central Senatorial District.

The Returning Officer,  Goman Lar, said Plang got 131,129 votes to defeat his closest rival Golkuna Gotum of the PDP, who scored 127,023 votes.

But  PDP’s Governor Aminu Tambuwal won in Sokoto South with 100,860 votes. His closest rival Senator Ibrahim Danbaba, came behind with 97,884 votes.

Similarly, in Kebbi North, PDP’s Senator Yahaya Abdullahi and former Minority Leader, won with 98, 464 votes while the APC polled, 89, 269 votes.

In Zamfara Central, PDP’s Ikra  Bilbis won with 102,866 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Senator Kabiru Marafa of the All APC, who scored 91,216 votes in the election.

Labour Party got eight seats, New Nigeria People’s Party got two seats, Social Democratic Party, had two seats, the All Progressive Grand Alliance and Young People’s Party got one seat each.

Obaseki congratulates lawmakers-elect

In Edo State, APC’s Chief Billy Osawaru emerged victorious in the Orhionmwon/Uhunmwonde Federal Constituency election; while in the state Assembly election, PDP’s Destiny Enabulele, Natasha Osawaru, and Uyi Omosigho were declared winners in Ovia South-West, Egor, and Oredo East constituencies, respectively.

The Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, in a statement, congratulated the victorious PDP candidates.

“I also commend all Edo people who participated in the elections for comporting themselves responsibly during the exercise and ensuring the conclusion of the elections peacefully,” Obaseki said.

PDP victorious in Rivers

Also, INEC in Rivers State declared the PDP candidates for Khana/Gokana Federal Constituency, Dunameme Dekor; and Port Harcourt Federal Constituency 2, Blessing Amadi, winners of the supplementary elections held in the state.

The Returning Officer, Kingsely Owete, said, “The PDP candidate, Dumnamene Dekor, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

Recall that the APC candidate for the election, Collins Owhondah, had withdrawn from the race, less than 24 hours to the election, and announced his defection to the PDP.

PDP, APC win in Bayelsa

In Bayelsa, INEC declared the PDP candidate for the Southern Ijaw Federal Constituency, Rodney Ambaiowei, as the winner of the supplementary election in the state.

The Returning Officer for the election, Chris Onyema, said Ambaiowei scored 13,992 votes to defeat the incumbent lawmaker, Preye Oseke of the APC, who polled 12,992 votes.

The commission also declared the APC candidate for Ogbia Constituency 2, Obein Godknows, the winner of the supplementary polls for the state House of Assembly.

Godknows polled 5, 291 votes, to defeat his closet rival and incumbent lawmaker, Munalayefa Gibson of the PDP, who scored 4,342 votes.


APC retains seat in Jigawa

Meanwhile, Mr Sani Nazifi of the APC representing Gumel/Gagarawa/Suletankar/Maigatar Federal Constituency of Jigawa State won the seat for the second time.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Ahmed Baita, on Sunday, said Nazifi polled 49,893 votes to defeat his main rival, Ahmed Habu of the PDP, who scored 46,537 votes.

Similarly, Baita also declared the APC candidate, Mr Ishaq Tasiu, the winner of the supplementary election for the state Assembly seat in Dutse Local Government Area, after the Returning Officer, Prof. Ahmed Shehu, said Tasiu scored 31,311 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Adamu Alhaji of the PDP, who polled 28,656 votes.

The Returning Officer for the Birnin Kudu Constituency supplementary election, Prof. Usman Haruna, declared Ibrahim Kabiru of the PDP the winner, having polled 36,050 votes to beat his closest rival and incumbent, Mr Muhammad Surajo of the APC, who polled 34,545 votes.

Also, the Returning Officer for the Yankwashi Local Government State Assembly supplementary election, Prof. Abdulhamid Adamu, declared the APC candidate, Muhammad Ado, the winner, after polling 9,479 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Abdullahi Karkarna, who polled 5,606 votes.

Ex-Taraba Speaker wins

Meanwhile, INEC declared the APC candidate and former Speaker of the Taraba State House of Assembly, Mark Useni, the winner of the Takum/Donga/Ussa/Yangtu Federal constituency.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Luka Juma, said Useni polled 25, 929 votes to defeat the candidate of the New Nigerian People’s Party and current occupant of the seat, Riman Shawulu, who garnered 25, 350 votes.

Three-term Rep defeated in Anambra

Similarly, the Labour Party candidate for the Ogbaru Federal Constituency in Anambra State, Afam Ogene, defeated the incumbent and third-term member of the House of Representatives, Chukwuma Onyema, in the Saturday election.

The returning officer, Prof. Kingsley Ubaorji, said Ogene scored 10,851 votes to unseat Onyema of the PDP, who polled 10,619 votes.

 APC wins in Kaduna, Katsina

Meanwhile, the results announced by INEC revealed that Mr Haliru Dangana of the APC for the Sanga Constituency seat in the Kaduna State House of Assembly won the Saturday rerun election.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Umaru Musa, said Dangana polled 13, 883 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mrs Comfort Amwe of the PDP, who scored 13, 275 votes.

Similarly, the Returning Officer for the Kankia constituency election in  Katsina State, Dr Kamaluddeen Kabo, declared  Salisu Rimaye of the APC as the winner.

Kabo said Rimaye scored 18, 157 votes to beat Abdullahi Ibrahim of the PDP who polled 16, 763 votes.

LP wins in Enugu

Meanwhile, INEC declared that the Labour Party won the just-concluded Oji River State Constituency supplementary election in Enugu State.

LP’s Osita Eze won the supplementary election with 108 votes (at the supplementary election) and already with over 300 votes outstanding (during the March 18 election) to defeat the incumbent, Chief Jeff Mba of the PDP, who secured 118 votes(at the supplementary election).

Reacting, the LP spokesperson for the state, Dr Mcginger Ibeneme, said it was a hard-fought victory for the Oji River people as well as the beginning of their total political emancipation.

Oyo Rep retains seat

In Oyo State, the lawmaker representing Oluyole Federal Constituency, Tolulope Akande-Sadipe, emerged as the winner of the Saturday supplementary election.

Akande-Sadipe, who is the current Chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Diaspora Affairs, polled 14,891 votes to defeat her closest rival, Mogbonjubola Mojeed of the PDP, who polled 13,073 votes.